Hadjeb al Ayoun

5 Dec

Eyebrow and Eye.  The name of a city in the middle of nowhere in Tunisia.  A town I stayed in for three weeks and actually miss.  While I was there, I never thought I’d say that.  But, it was nice.  It was nice having neighbors that would look out for you even if they had only met you a few days before.  Neighbors that would bring you plates full of food even though you had only met them a few days before.  Hearing the athan throughout the whole city was quite the experience.  One day, maybe we’ll be able to hear that here in the United States.  Experiencing my husband’s childhood in the small way that I did really gave me insight into who he is and insight into who I am.  It’s amazing how different we really are.  But, incredible how we came together and how well we get along.  Allah truly had/has a plan for me and for all of us.  Never in a million years did I think that I’d be Muslim, married to a Tunisian, and just so happy.  Alhamdullilah.

Leave a Reply

